Toril Moi

James B. Duke Professor of Literature

External address: 
114 S. Buchanan Boulevard, B184 Smith Warehouse, Durham, NC 27708-0403
Internal office address: 
Box 90403, B184 Smith Warehouse, Durham, NC 27708-0403
Phone: 
(919) 668-6407

Toril Moi has three broad areas of interest: feminist theory and women's writing; the intersection of literature, philosophy and aesthetics; and ordinary language philosophy in the tradition of Wittgenstein, Cavell and Austin.

Toril Moi also works on theater. In her work on literature and theater she is particularly interested in the emergence of modernism in the late 19th century and early 20th century.

Her books include Sexual/Textual Politics: Feminist Literary Theory (1985; 2nd edition 2002), Simone de Beauvoir: The Making of an Intellectual Woman (1994; second edition with a major new introduction 2008); and What Is a Woman? And Other Essays (1999), republished in a shorter version as Sex, Gender and the Body (2005). She is the editor of The Kristeva Reader (1986), and of French Feminst Thought (1987).

In 2006, Henrik Ibsen and the Birth of Modernism: Art, Theater, Philosphy, was published in English by Oxford University Press and in Norwegian by Pax Forlag (Oslo). The book won the MLA's Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for the best book in Comparative Literary Studies in 2007. It is now available in paperback.

Toril Moi now works on three projects: (1) The Emergence of European Modernism 1870-1914; (2) Femisist Theory and Women Writers; and (3) "Pictures of Language": on the vision of language in ordinary language philosophy. She also continues to work on Henrik Ibsen's plays.

Toril Moi enjoys working with students at all levels. She won Duke's Univeristy Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award in 1998, and the Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring of Graduate Students in 2008.

In her native Norway, Toril Moi writes a regular column for the cultural newspaper Morgenbladet.

Education

  • Dr. Art., University of Bergen 1985
  • Mag. art., University of Bergen 1980

MOI, T, and MITCHELL, J. "PSYCHOANALYSIS, FEMINISM, AND POLITICS, A CONVERSATION WITH MITCHELL,JULIET." SOUTH ATLANTIC QUARTERLY 93.4 (1994): 925-949.

Moi, T. "Review Article Femininity Revisited." Journal of Gender Studies 1.3 (May 1, 1992): 324-334. (Review) Full Text

MOI, T. "BEAUVOIR,SIMONE,DE L 'INVITEE' - AN EXISTENTIALIST MELODRAMA." PARAGRAPH 14.2 (July 1991): 151-169.

MOI, T. "SUBJECT TO CHANGE, READING FEMINIST WRITING - MILLER,NK." FRENCH STUDIES 45.1 (January 1991): 112-113. Full Text

MOI, T. "BOOKS OR SPINNING-WHEELS - ON WOMEN, PHILOSOPHY, ET-CETERA - FRENCH - LEDOEUFF,M." TLS-THE TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT 4549 (June 8, 1990): S13-S13.

MOI, T. "SEXUAL SUBVERSIONS - 3 FRENCH FEMINISTS - GROSZ,E." TLS-THE TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT 4549 (June 8, 1990): S13-S13.

MOI, T. "A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE - JOHNSON,B." SUB-STANCE 59 (1989): 120-122.

Pages