Duke the Program In Literature

Chair

    • Rey Chow
    • Anne Firor Scott Professor of Literature
    • Chow's research comprises theoretical, interdisciplinary, and textual analyses. Since her years as a graduate student at Stanford University, she has specialized in the making of cultural forms such as literature and film (with particular attention to East Asia, Western Europe, and North America), and in the discursive encounters among modernity, sexuality, ...
    • View Full Profile

Director of Undergraduate Studies

    • Antonio Viego
    • Associate Professor of Literature and Romance Studies and Director of Undergraduate Studies
    • Latino studies, Ethnic Studies, Queer/Lesbian/Gay studies, Twentieth Century American Literatures, Critical Race Theory, Chicana Feminist Theory, Comparative Ethnicities, Lacanian Psychoanalytic Theory
    • View Full Profile

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Director of Graduate Studies

    • Wahneema Lubiano
    • Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
    • Associate Professor of Literature (Ph.D., Stanford, 1987). Before coming to Duke she taught at Princeton, the University of Texas at Austin, and Williams College. Her essays and articles have been published in Social Text, Cultural Critique, boundary 2, American Literary History, Callaloo, New Engladn Quarterly, among other publications. She is author of the forthcoming books Messing With the Machine: ...
    • View Full Profile

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Faculty

Professors

    • Srinivas Aravamudan
    • Professor of English and Dean of Humanities
    • Srinivas Aravamudan gained his PhD at Cornell University and has taught at the University of Utah, and at the University of Washington. He joined the Duke English Department in the Fall of 2000. He specializes in eighteenth century British and French literature and in postcolonial literature and theory. He is the author of essays in Diacritics, ELH, ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Rey Chow
    • Anne Firor Scott Professor of Literature
    • Chow's research comprises theoretical, interdisciplinary, and textual analyses. Since her years as a graduate student at Stanford University, she has specialized in the making of cultural forms such as literature and film (with particular attention to East Asia, Western Europe, and North America), and in the discursive encounters among modernity, sexuality, ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Roberto Dainotto
    • Chair of Romance Studies
    • Literature and Place, Nationalism and Regionalism, Aesthetic Theory, Italian Idealism, Translation Theory, Autobiography, Ideas of Europe, European Visions of the New World, The Cultural Formation of the Italian Nation.
    • View Full Profile
    • William C. Donahue
    • Professor of German and Professor of Literature and Chair of Germanic Languages
    • View Full Profile
    • Ariel Dorfman
    • Distinguished Professor
    • Walter Hines Page Research Professor of Literature and Latin American Studies; has a Licenciatura in Comparative Literature from the Universidad de Chile, Santiago, 1965. He has taught at the Universidad de Chile, the Sorbonne (Paris IV) and the University of Amsterdam. His major publications include the essays, How to Read Donald Duck (in collaboration ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Elizabeth Grosz
    • Jean Fox O'Barr Women's Studies Professor in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Literature
    • View Full Profile
    •  
    • Mark Hansen
    • Professor
    • Over the past decade I have sought in my research, writing and teaching to theorize the role played by technology in human agency and social life. In work that ranges across a host of disciplines, including literary studies, film and media, philosophy (particularly phenomenology), science studies, and cognitive neuroscience, I have explored the meaning ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Michael Hardt
    • Professor of Literature
    • Michael Hardt's writings explore the new forms of domination in the contemporary world as well as the social movements and other forces of liberation that resist them. In the Empire trilogy -- Empire (2000), Multitude (2004), and Commonwealth(2009) -- he and Antonio Negri investigate the political, legal, economic, and social aspects of globalization. ...
    • View Full Profile
    •  
    • Katherine Hayles
    • Professor
    • Digital Humanities Electronic Literature Literature, Science and Technology Science Fiction Critical Theroy
    • View Full Profile
    • Fredric Jameson
    • Professor
    • Knut Schmidt-Nielsen Professorship, Professor of Comparative Literature, Professor of Romance Studies (French). Professor Jameson received his Ph.D. from Yale in 1959 and taught at Harvard, Yale, and the University of California before coming to Duke in 1985. He is the author of Postmodernism, or, The Cultural Logic of Late Capitalism (1991, which ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Ranjana Khanna
    • Professor
    • Ranjana Khanna works on Anglo- and Francophone Postcolonial theory and literature, Psychoanalysis, and Feminist theory. She has published articles on transnational feminism, psychoanalysis, autobiography, postcolonial agency, multiculturalism in an international context, postcolonial Joyce, Area Studies and Women's Studies, and Algerian film. She is the ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Walter D Mignolo
    • Professor of Literature and William H. Wannamaker Professor of Literature and Romance Studies; Professor of Cultural Anthropology; Spanish & Latin American Studies
    • The previous categories (Comparative Philosophy, etc.) do not reflect exactly my work. But that is what happened when you have to define yourself according to some else categories. They are institutional categories that do not allow for creativity and force you into the box-cage of orthodox scholarship. My work (thinking, writing, researching, teaching, networking) in the past five ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Toril Moi
    • James B. Duke Professor of Literature and Romance Studies
      Professor of English, Philosophy, and Theater Studies
    • Toril Moi has three broad areas of interest: feminist theory and women's writing; the intersection of literature, philosophy and aesthetics; and ordinary language philosophy in the tradition of Wittgenstein, Cavell and Austin. Toril Moi also works on theater. In her work on literature and theater she is particularly interested in the emergence of modernism in ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Kenneth J Surin
    • Professor of Literature
    • (Ph.D. Birmingham, England, 1977) is Professor of Literature and Professor of Religion and Critical Theory. He trained initially as an analytical philosopher. His teaching areas include anglophone literatures outside England, philosophy (both analytical and continental), critical theory, marxism, state theory, and international political economy.
    • View Full Profile
    • Robyn Wiegman
    • Professor
    • Robyn Wiegman is Professor of Literature and Women's Studies and formerly the Margaret Taylor Smith Director of Women's Studies at Duke, from 2001-2007. She earned her Ph.D. in American Literature at the University of Washington in 1988 and has taught at Syracuse University, Indiana University, and the University of California, Irvine. Her publications include ...
    • View Full Profile

Associate Professors

    • Wahneema Lubiano
    • Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
    • Associate Professor of Literature (Ph.D., Stanford, 1987). Before coming to Duke she taught at Princeton, the University of Texas at Austin, and Williams College. Her essays and articles have been published in Social Text, Cultural Critique, boundary 2, American Literary History, Callaloo, New Engladn Quarterly, among other publications. She is author of the forthcoming books Messing With the Machine: ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Negar Mottahedeh
    • Associate Professor
    • Negar Mottahedeh is a cultural critic and film theorist specializing in interdisciplinary and feminist contributions to the fields of Middle Eastern Studies and Film Studies. She is known for her work on Iranian Cinema, but has also published on the history of reform and revolution, on`Abdu'l-Bahá's vision of human solidarity and peace in the 20th ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Antonio Viego
    • Associate Professor of Literature and Romance Studies and Director of Undergraduate Studies
    • Latino studies, Ethnic Studies, Queer/Lesbian/Gay studies, Twentieth Century American Literatures, Critical Race Theory, Chicana Feminist Theory, Comparative Ethnicities, Lacanian Psychoanalytic Theory
    • View Full Profile
    •  
    • Susan Willis
    • Associate Professor
    • Associate Professor of English and The Literature Program. She teaches courses in minority writing and popular culture. She is the author of Specifying: Black Women Writing the American Experience and A Primer for Daily Life. She is coauthor of Inside the Mouse: Work and Play at Disney World. Her work aims at revealing the contradictions of capitalism in everyday life ...
    • View Full Profile

Assistant Professors

    • Markos Hadjioannou
    • Assistant Professor
    • The theoretical framework of my research interests focuses on the polymorphism of cinema studies, as well as the potentiality of the “medium” as a process of intermediations. With this in mind, my first research project turned to the impact of digital cinema on contemporary film theory, looking at the relationship between celluloid and digital ...
    • View Full Profile

Professors Emeriti

    • Valentin Y Mudimbe
    • Professor Emeritus
    • Newman Ivey White Professor of Literature at Duke University, V.Y. Mudimbe received his Doctorat en Philosophie et Lettres from the Catholic University of Louvain in 1970. In 1997, he became Doctor Honoris Causa at Université Paris VII Diderot, and in 2006, became Doctor Honoris Causa at Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. Before coming to Duke, he ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Janice A Radway
    • Professor of Literature and History
    • (Ph.D. in English and American Studies, Michigan State University, 1977). Before coming to Duke, she taught in the American Civilization Department at the University of Pennsylvania, where she also served as editor of the American Quarterly. She is the author of Reading the Romance: Women, Patriarchy and Popular Literature, and A Feeling for ...
    • View Full Profile
    • James Rolleston
    • Professor
    • Professor of German and Literature (Ph.D. Yale, 1968). He has been at Duke since 1975 and is currently chair of the German Department. His books include Kafka 's Narrative Theater (1974), and Narratives of Ecstasy: Romantic Temporality in Modern German Poetry (1987). His research interests focus on romanticism, the Frankfurt School generally, and Walter ...
    • View Full Profile
    • Barbara H. Smith
    • Braxton Craven Professor of Comparative Literature and English Emerita. Former Director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in Science and Cultural Theory.
    • View Full Profile
    • Philip R. Stewart
    • Professor
    • Professor of French (Ph.D., Yale, 1967). His principal research interests are eighteenth-century French literature and intellectual history. His publications in these areas include Imitation and Illusion in the French Memoir-Novel, 1700-1750 (1969), Le Masque et la parole: le language de l 'amour au XVIIIe siècle (1973), Rereadings: Eight Early French Novels (1984), Half-Told Tales: Dilemmas of Meaning in Three ...
    • View Full Profile

Graduate Students

Staff

Department Administrator

    •  
    • Karen A Bell
    • Department Administrator and Department Administrator and Assistant to the Chair
    • View Full Profile

Other

  • Old typewriter Image